Airport Rail Link Bangkok

During my  recent visit to Thailand I arrived at Suvarnabhumi Airport from Doha, Qatar. It is one of the two international airports serving Bangkok, Thailand.

20161103_140630On arrival, after I went through customs I draw cash at the ATM  and then bought a sim card. The particular one I bought is called Happy Tourist Sim. It gives you unlimited internet for 7 days, as well as a 100 baht call credit for 299 baht.

20161103_145715   I then went to the Airport Rail Link station which is situated inside the airport in the basement. There are clear directions to the station. I  bought a train token at one of the Automatic Token Dispensers. Simply select your destination and the number of passengers, and the fare will be calculated based on your input. The machine accepts both coins and bills, no cards.

The Airport Rail Link service hours is 06:00 – midnight. All carriages have AC. There are 4 – 5 trains per hour.

20161129_141328

The Airport Rail Link connects you to the MRT underground at Makkasan Station (MRT Petchaburi Station) and the BTS Skytrain at Phayathai Station
I got off at Makkasan and walked about 5 minutes via a skywalk to Petchaburi. There are clear directions, or do as I did and just follow the crowd with the bags. It seems as though everybody that got off at Makkasan was heading towards Petchaburi. Here I bought another token, 30 baht, to Hua Lamphong Metro Station, which was my destination.

I used the Airport Rail Link two more times while in Bangkok because it was just so convenient, clean, safe, modern and easy to use.

1

Leave a Reply

