Ta Prohm, Angkor Wat Archaeological Park

20161107_162107.jpg

When I fist saw pictures of the Ta Prohm temple  I was in awe. I couldn’t believe that such a magical place exist….in real life!! And when I found out that I can visit this magical place, I started to make plans to visit Cambodia. The Ta Prohm temple was my inspiration for a month long journey through Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.20161107_171821.jpg

Ta Prohm was built in the late 12th and early 13th centuries. It was used as a Buddhist monastery and university. At the fall of the Khmer Empire in the 15th century, the temple of Ta Prohm was abandoned and taken in by the jungle. It was only centuries later that it was ‘discovered’ again.20161107_102243.jpg

And so I found myself in Cambodia at the Angkor Archaeological Park.  Ta Prohm was the second temple I visited  as part of the small circuit of Angkor. My driver dropped me off at the east gate.  20161107_095807I walked through the forest for a few minutes, entered the ruins, and had to pinch myself. Here I am, standing amongst the ruins, in  the Cambodian forest, my dream now a reality.20161107_102821

The beauty of the silk trees  and strangler fig trees and their giant roots climbing over the temple ruins are out of this world…. I was overwhelmed by the sheer size and scale of the roots.20161107_103415.jpg

But, Ta Prohm was not my favourite temple that day! The reason being the many tour groups, herding along like sheep, blocking paths and queuing to take pictures. So it was difficult to savour the atmosphere with so many people there. 20161107_103545

This was by far the busiest temple, but not to be missed. Truly spectacular!!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Ta Prohm, Angkor Wat Archaeological Park

Leave a Reply

